About Us

Our History

UFA

The roots of the German Film Orchestra Babelsberg reach back to 1918 when the Universum Film AG (UFA) founded the UFA symphony orchestra in Babelsberg as the first film orchestra in Germany. Significant projects during the beginnings of the UFA symphony orchestra were legendary silent films like Fritz Lang’s “Metropolis” (1926), Carl Mayer’s “The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari” (1920) and Walter Ruttmann’s “Berlin: Symphony of a Metropolis” (1927). With the introduction of sound film and the necessity to adapt, the UFA symphony orchestra was restructured in 1932. After that, it worked on milestones of film history such as Joseph von Sternberg’s “The Blue Angel” (1930), Wilhelm Thiele’s »The Three from the Filling Station” (1930) or “Die Feuerzangenbowle” (1944) by Helmut Weiss. When the genre of musical films and “Revuefilm” (spectacle films) gained popularity in the 30s together with stars like Marlene Dietrich, Lilian Harvey, Zarah Leander, Marika Rökk, Hans Albers, Johannes Heesters and Heinz Rühmann, the orchestra played and produced numerous hits of the time, for example, “Ich weiß, es wird einmal ein Wunder gescheh’n” and “Kann denn Liebe Sünde sein”. Famous composers in this period besides Michael Jary were Franz Grothe (“Sing mit mir”), Friedrich Hollaender (“Ich bin die fesche Lola”) and Werner R. Heymann (“Ein Freund, ein guter Freund”).

DEFA

The orchestra survived the time of the second world war mostly undamaged and was able to continue its work in 1946 with the foundation of the Deutsche Film AG (DEFA). The orchestra was then operating on their original plot in Babelsberg as the dedicated orchestra for the DEFA music department. The now DEFA symphony orchestra worked on classic films such as Wolfgang Staudte’s “The Murderers Are Among Us” (1946) and Erich Engel’s “Blum Affair” (1948). Between the founding of a dedicated DEFA studio for feature films in 1952/1953 and the sale of the studios in 1989, the music for almost all studio productions was done in the DEFA orchestra. This includes Heiner Carow’s “The Legend of Paul and Paula” (1973), Peter Schamoni’s »Spring Symphony« (1983) as well as the entire TV series “Polizeiruf 110”. One of the most important film composers of the DEFA was Karl-Ernst Sasse, who was also directing the orchestra between 1958 and 1964. Afterwards, he composed over 500 pieces of film and TV music, including numerous Native American and fairytale films of the DEFA. In the following decades, the spectrum of the orchestra was continuously expanded through the collaboration with great film music composers like Peter Gotthardt, Günther Fischer, Manfred Rosenberg, and Bernd Wefelmeyer.

DFOB

After the liquidation of the DEFA studios, the orchestra and its musicians were temporarily a part of the Brandenburg philharmonic orchestra in Potsdam. However, in 1993 they took the initiative and founded the German Film Orchestra Babelsberg (“Deutsches Filmorchester Babelsberg” or DFOB) that is known today and they continue to carry on the traditions of their predecessors. Since this new founding, the DFOB has two very successful branches of work: on the one hand the production of film and TV music, as well as music media, and on the other hand extensive concert work with live film concerts, film music programs, and other genres from classic to crossover projects. Between 1993 and 2007 the DFOB was located on the former public broadcasting plot at Nalepastraße, Berlin. Here the studio worked on around 400 soundtracks for national and international film and TV productions, as well as 80 CD productions. In December 2007 the DFOB returned back to its roots in Babelsberg and started using the premises of the Babelsberg film studios for practicing, recording and studios. To achieve this, the former Studio A, which was originally built for the UFA film orchestra in the 30s, was restored and equipped to match today’s standards both technically and acoustically. As a result, the orchestra and its Scoring Stage are now part of the media campus Potsdam-Babelsberg (“Medienstadt Babelsberg”), just like the Babelsberg studios, the film park Babelsberg, Berlin-Brandenburg Broadcasting (RBB) and the film university Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF.

2020-01/1580289632_defa-sinfonieorregie-obenlambert-big2020-01/1580289631_bigband-im-musikatelier-big2020-01/1580289630_haus4-von-oben-ca19542020-01/1580289632_musikatelier-1993-vor-umbau2020-01/1580289632_gruppenfoto-fob

The German Film Orchestra Babelsberg

Violins

First Violins

Dagmar Quies
Angelina Nalbantova
Susanne Stoof-Scholz
Detlef Penkert
Christiane Lewek
Tina Schauer
Anya Tukh
Iljana Schindler

Second Violins

Thilo Röding
Burkhard Wozny
Jürgen Grothe
Chinatsu Nakajima-Eckoldt
Wolfgang Rönfeldt
Alex Paul

Low strings

Violas

Peter Bock
Till Birkner
Holger Herzog
Manuela Mocanu

Cellos

Sebastian Selke
Sébastien Rateau
Gunther Haupt

Double Basses

Laura Bosch Badia

Woodwinds

Flutes

Heiko Tschauner

Oboes

Kirstin Hildebrand

Clarinets

Winfried Rager

Bassoons

Maria Marguerre

Brass

Horns

Aki Yamauchi
Katharina Jahn

Trumpets

Marcus Sommer

Trombones

Ralf Zickerick
Lars Juling
Tilmann Hennig

Percussion & Harp

Timpani

Percussion

Harp

Orchestra Attendants

The Crew

    Management

  • Klaus-Peter Beyer Director
  • Hartmut Zell Orchestra Manager
  • Astrid Reusch Reception
  • Manuela Göx Bookkeeping
  • Studio

  • Falko Duczmal Head of Studio
  • Felix Trawoeger Pro Tools Operator
  • Alexander Wohlfeil Pro Tools Operator

Über uns

Unsere Geschichte

UFA

Die Wurzeln des Deutschen Filmorchesters Babelsberg reichen zurück bis ins Jahr 1918, als die Universum Film AG (UFA) in Babelsberg mit dem UFA-Sinfonieorchester das erste Filmorchester Deutschlands gründete. Die Anfangszeit dieses UFA-Sinfonieorchesters war geprägt durch die musikalische Begleitung legendärer Stummfilme wie Fritz Langs »Metropolis« (1926), Carl Mayers »Das Kabinett des Dr. Caligari« (1920) und Walter Ruttmanns »Berlin, Symphonie einer Großstadt« (1927). Durch die Einführung des Tonfilms und der Notwendigkeit, dem neuen Format zu entsprechen, wurde das UFA-Sinfonieorchester im Jahr 1932 modifiziert. In der Folgezeit entstanden unter seiner Mitwirkung Meilensteine der Filmgeschichte wie Joseph von Sternbergs »Der blaue Engel« (1930), Wilhelm Thieles »Die drei von der Tankstelle« (1930) oder »Die Feuerzangenbowle« (1944) von Helmut Weiss. Im Zuge der Erfolgswelle der Revue- und Musikfilme der 30er Jahre und ihrer Stars wie Marlene Dietrich, Lilian Harvey, Zarah Leander, Marika Rökk, Hans Albers, Johannes Heesters oder Heinz Rühmann wurden zahlreiche UFA-Schlager vom Orchester eingespielt und produziert, darunter die Welthits »Ich weiß, es wird einmal ein Wunder gescheh’n« oder »Kann denn Liebe Sünde sein«. Maßgeblich prägten diese Zeit neben dem Komponisten Michael Jary vor allem Franz Grothe (»Sing mit mir«), Friedrich Hollaender (»Ich bin die fesche Lola«) oder Werner R. Heymann (»Ein Freund, ein guter Freund«).

DEFA

Das Orchester überstand die Zeit des Zweiten Weltkriegs nahezu unbeschadet und konnte bereits 1946 mit Gründung der Deutschen Film AG (DEFA) seine Arbeit am alten Standort in Babelsberg als studioeigenes Orchester der DEFA-Musikabteilung fortsetzen. In der Nachkriegszeit entstanden hier unter Mitwirkung des nunmehr DEFA-Sinfonieorchesters Filmklassiker wie Wolfgang Staudtes »Die Mörder sind unter uns« (1946) und Erich Engels »Affaire Blum« (1948). Nach Ausgründung des selbstständigen DEFA-Studios für Spielfilme 1952/53 wurden bis zum Verkauf der Studios im Jahre 1989 nahezu alle Produktionen mit dem DEFA-Orchester eingespielt, darunter Heiner Carows »Die Legende von Paul und Paula« (1973), Peter Schamonis »Frühlingssinfonie« (1983) sowie alle Folgen der TV-Serie »Polizeiruf 110«. Zu den bedeutendsten Filmkomponisten der DEFA zählt unter anderem Karl-Ernst Sasse, der in der Zeit von 1958-1964 auch die Leitung des Orchesters wahrnahm und in der Folgezeit über 500 Film- und Fernsehmusiken komponierte, auch zu den zahlreichen Indianer- und Märchenfilmen der DEFA. In den folgenden Jahrzehnten bereicherte die kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit mit so bekannten Filmmusikkomponisten wie Peter Gotthardt, Günther Fischer, Manfred Rosenberg oder Bernd Wefelmeyer das Spektrum des Orchesters.

DFOB

Nach der Liquidation der DEFA-Studios waren das Orchester und seine Musiker zwischenzeitlich Teil der Brandenburgischen Philharmonie Potsdam, bis es sich 1993 auf Eigeninitiative in seiner heutigen Form unter dem Namen »Deutsches Filmorchester Babelsberg« neu gründete und seither die Tradition seiner Vorgänger fortsetzt. Seit dieser Neugründung führt das DFOB zwei überaus erfolgreiche Geschäftsbereiche: zum einen die Produktion von Film- und Fernsehmusiken sowie Tonträgern, zum anderen eine umfangreiche Konzerttätigkeit mit Film-Live-Konzerten, Filmmusik-Programmen, Gastspielen und Tourneen von Klassik bis zu Crossover-Projekten. In der Zeit von 1993 bis 2007 hatte das DFOB seinen Sitz auf dem ehemaligen Rundfunkgelände in der Berliner Nalepastraße. Hier entstanden in den eigenen Studios rund 400 Soundtracks zu nationalen und internationalen Film- und TV-Produktionen sowie über 80 CD-Produktionen. Im Dezember 2007 ist das DFOB wieder zu seinen Wurzeln an die alte Wirkungsstätte zurückgekehrt, indem es seine neuen Räume für Proben, Aufnahmen und Studios auf dem traditionsreichen Gelände der Babelsberger Filmstudios bezogen hat. Zu diesem Zweck wurde das ehemalige Studio A, das Anfang der 30er Jahre für das damalige UFA-Filmorchester errichtet worden war, restauriert und sowohl technisch als auch akustisch auf den derzeit international führenden Standard gebracht. Damit sind sowohl das Orchester als auch die Scoring Stage neben den Babelsberger Studios, dem Filmpark Babelsberg, dem Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (RBB) sowie der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF wieder fester Bestandteil der Medienstadt Potsdam-Babelsberg.

DFOB_1DFOB_2DFOB_3DFOB_4DFOB_5

Das Deutsche Filmorchester Babelsberg

Hohe Streicher

Erste Violinen

Dagmar Quies
Angelina Nalbantova
Susanne Stoof-Scholz
Detlef Penkert
Christiane Lewek
Tina Schauer
Anya Tukh
Iljana Schindler

Zweite Violinen

Thilo Röding
Burkhard Wozny
Jürgen Grothe
Chinatsu Nakajima-Eckoldt
Wolfgang Rönfeldt
Alex Paul

Tiefe Streicher

Bratschen

Peter Bock
Till Birkner
Holger Herzog
Manuela Mocanu

Violoncelli

Sebastian Selke
Sébastien Rateau
Gunther Haupt

Kontrabässe

Laura Bosch Badia

Holzbläser

Flöten

Heiko Tschauner

Oboen

Kirstin Hildebrand

Klarinetten

Winfried Rager

Fagotte

Maria Marguerre

Blechbläser

Hörner

Katharina Jahn
Aki Yamauchi

Trompeten

Marcus Sommer

Posaunen

Lars Juling
Tilmann Hennig

Schlagwerk & Harfe

Pauken

Perkussion

Harfe

Orchesterwarte

Die Crew

    Management

  • Klaus-Peter Beyer Intendanz
  • Hartmut Zell Orchesterdirektion
  • Astrid Reusch Sekretariat
  • Manuela Göx Buchhaltung
  • Tonstudio

  • Falko Duczmal Studioleitung
  • Felix Trawoeger Pro Tools Operator
  • Alexander Wohlfeil Pro Tools Operator